You’ve decided that it’s time to get into an aged care facility, but you’re still hesitant to take the step until you’re sure you’ll receive quality care. You want to be sure that your needs will be met. It’s ok to wonder what quality care looks like in residential aged care and what you should expect from a provider.

To put your worries to rest, aged care providers across Australia must meet and apply Aged Care Quality Standards. These standards aim to ensure providers deliver quality care to residents and their families.

What are the Aged Care Quality Standards?

Aged Care Quality Standards define what level of care facilities should provide. They spell out what good care should look like for people living in residential aged care centres or receiving aged care services in their own homes.

All government-funded aged care providers providing residential aged care or home care must comply with eight Aged Care Quality Standards. These standards came into effect on 1 July 2019.

The 8 Aged Care Quality Standards

Aged Care Quality Standards are made up of eight unique components aimed at helping aged care providers to offer an exceptional level of care for residents and other consumers in the industry.

Here are the eight Standards and what they mean for you.

1. Consumer dignity and choice

This standard calls upon service providers to treat their clients with dignity and respect. People should feel supported to make informed choices about their care and services and live the life they choose.

2. Ongoing assessment and planning

The second standard requires that service providers treat you like a partner in your own care assessment and planning. The assessment should consider your needs, goals and preferences to ensure you get the care and services you need for your health and well-being.

3. Personal care and clinical care

This standard requires that customers get personal care, clinical care, or both that are safe and right for them. Clients should be served by professional staff that will offer assistance in an appropriate and safe manner.

4. Services and support for daily living

Clients should get services and support for daily living to enhance their independence, health, well-being and overall quality of life. These services include food, domestic assistance, and recreational and social activities.

5. Organisation’s service environment

The physical environment of the aged care organisations should be safe, clean, comfortable, well-maintained and welcoming. It should be easy for you to navigate the premises and always give you a sense of belonging.

6. Feedback and complaints

Aged care providers should be receptive to feedback and/or complaints from residents, their families and friends, carers and employees. The institutions should resolve complaints in a fair, prompt and confidential manner. This should make you comfortable to air any concerns you have about the services you receive.

7. Human resources

This standard requires aged care providers have skilled, qualified, knowledgeable, capable and caring staff to deliver services safely and respectfully to all clients. All workers should ensure that interactions with residents and customers are kind and caring. They should respect each person’s identity, culture and diversity.

8. Organisational governance

This standard makes sure all organisations uphold responsibility and accountability for the care they provide. Organisations should develop systems that promote and deliver quality aged care services at every business level.

Now you know what to look for and consider when you visit an aged care service. Understanding what you’re entitled to will help you pick the right facility for you and your loved ones.

You might also like:

Hi, I hope you found this article useful.

If you wish to discuss your situation and what strategies may be of benefit please contact us here 

Thanks - Shane